Adventures in Living a Natural Lifestyle

Sharing my adventures in living a more natural lifestyle, information about essential oils and natural home, health, and beauty recipes!

General Musings on Getting Started with Essential Oils and a Lemon Sugar Scrub Recipe to Share the Love!

Leave a comment

Sorry I’ve been absent the last week! I was busy planning my first Essential Oil Make ‘N Take party that I hosted yesterday! We had so much fun using essential oils to make home, health and beauty products.  It can be really overwhelming to know where to start with essential oils so I always suggest taking a personal inventory of the areas in your life that you are unsatisfied with and starting your research there.  Maybe you want to rid your home of toxic cleaning chemicals.  Maybe you want to find natural hygiene and beauty routines.  Or maybe you just want to support your family’s health and wellness.  Whatever the need, there’s an oil for that! I love doing research on ways that essential oils can enhance the lives of my friends and readers because I learn so much about what these amazing oils can do! So feel free to message me with your areas of concern and I’d be glad to help!

At my Make ‘N Take party this past weekend I shared several options for my guests to choose from.  My skin has gone bonkers lately! I’m not sure if it’s hormones or my body trying to detox since I started adding Lemon essential oil to help me meet my daily water intake, but whatever the reason it’s not happy.  So I was most excited to try out a new recipe that I shared with my guests, a Lemon Sugar Scrub.  This recipe can be used on both the body and face. It’s ideal for rough spots like feet, knees, elbows and hands.  It’s also great for nail beds and cuticles.  And with a few simple modifications this scrub makes an excellent choice for people who suffer from occasional breakouts because it contains ingredients that are beneficial to acne-prone skin:

  • Lemon essential oil helps tightens pores and evens out the skin tone.
  • Sugar helps remove dead skin cells and cleans pores.
  • Substitute Extra Virgin Olive Oil for the Coconut Oil as it is less comedogenic (less likely to clog pores) and helps heals acne scarring.
  • And adding a bit of Honey helps prevent future breakouts.

I tried the recipe out last night and it was lovely! I love a good scrub and felt like my skin was so much smoother afterwards! Plus, the olive oil helped prevent my skin from feeling overly dry after I rinsed it off.  This one is definitely a keeper!

So without further ado, here it is:

Lemon Sugar Scrub

  • 1 cup of Sugar
  • ¼ cup Coconut Oil (can substitute EVOO, especially for acne-prone skin)
  • 5 drops of Lemon Essential Oil
  • 1 tsp Honey (optional)

Mix ingredients and store in 8 oz glass jar.

As a body scrub: Apply to body, paying extra close attention to elbows, knees, feet and hands (nails and cuticles especially), and rub in circular motions for 3 to 5 minutes.  Rinse.  Enjoy the silky softness of your impossibly smooth skin.

As a face scrub: Clean face as usual with warm to hot water to help open up pores.  Apply scrub to clean face in gentle, circular motions.  Be cautious of using on open wounds, as lemon has a tendency to sting. Leave on for a few minutes and rinse with cool water.

** The above is not my original recipe.  I modified it from one I found in one of my YL business Facebook groups and regretfully cannot find the post again to give proper credit.  So if it’s your original recipe, let me know and I’ll gladly give proper citation.

 

I use only Young Living’s 100% pure, therapeutic grade essential oils.  Join Young Living to enjoy a 24% off discount.  Message me for more details or join today here!

 

*These statements have not been evaluated by the FDA. Products and techniques mentioned here are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease. Information here is in no way intended to replace proper medical help. Consult with the health authorities of your choice for treatment.

Author: shadowhawk1231

A wife, a mother, and an all natural DIYer!

Have feedback or a story to share! Tell me here!

