Adventures in Living a Natural Lifestyle

Sharing my adventures in living a more natural lifestyle, information about essential oils and natural home, health, and beauty recipes!

If it ain’t broke, don’t fix it: A lesson in a failed no poo recipe

Leave a comment

I recently shared a blog post about my no poo journey. I had found a routine that worked for me and had gone 18+ months without using shampoo. So why on earth would I feel the need to change my well established routine? Perhaps I liked the idea of a premixed “shampoo” that didn’t have to be boiled and cooled before using… Perhaps I was bored… Perhaps I just wanted to DIY something new… Whatever the reason, lesson learned: if it ain’t broke, don’t fix it!

So here’s the story. I love Dr. Axe’s videos and blog posts. I recently watched one of his webinars and was really intrigued by a Rosemary thickening “shampoo” recipe he shared. I have a new found love for Rosemary essential oil (be on the lookout for a future blog post on Rosemary oil as a deodorant alternative plus a new deodorant recipe for sensitive skin) and had heard lots of people say that using Aloe Vera as part of their no poo routine made their hair silky and smooth. So I thought, how could I go wrong!?! Ha!

I had high hopes for the recipe. See, I even made a cool graphic in anticipation of writing about how much I loved it!


But alas, I’m writing a different post.

In case you are interested, the recipe is:

  • 6 oz Aloe Vera gel
  • 3 Tbsp Olive Oil
  • 10 Tbsp Baking Soda
  • 20 drops Rosemary essential oil
  • 10 drops of Peppermint essential oil

Mix all ingredients in an 8 oz glass jar or BPA-free plastic container.  I just recycled one of my daughter’s body wash/shampoo containers.

Sounds lovely, right? So I enthusiastically jumped in my shower Saturday night ready to get clean and smell pretty (because of the yummy essential oils) for my date night with the hubby the next evening to celebrate our 6 year anniversary.  (Note to self: do not experiment with new recipes the night before an event!!!) My first impression was a little did NOT go a long way.  I was used to 1 tbsp of Baking Soda cleaning my whole head when diluted with 1 cup water and I found myself having to use two palm-fulls of this recipe to cover my entire scalp.  What I did like, however, is that while I was washing my hair with the recipe it did seem to make my hair feel silky and smooth and didn’t tangle nearly as much as it tends to do when I use my BS mixture. So I was super hopeful!

Because of the Baking Soda in the recipe I rinsed with my ACV rinse as normal to help re-establish my hair’s pH balance.  Per my usual routine I went to bed with my hair wet and never thought twice about it.

I first started to get concerned when I woke up in the middle of the night to nurse my daughter back to sleep.  My hair didn’t feel like it was drying as fast as usual but I didn’t put a whole lot of stock into my worries because I figured it would finish drying by morning and wouldn’t be a big deal.

But when I woke up the next morning and looked in the mirror I was sorely disappointed in my recipe experiment  My hair looked like an oil slick…   I tried brushing with my BBB with little to no change. And I quickly had a sinking feeling as I tried to figure out how in the world I would have time to re-wash my hair while wrangling an independent 7 month old while daddy was at work.

After her first nap I carried my daughter’s booster seat into the bathroom and locked her into it with a her tactile book and a couple of toys while I took a shower and tried to fix my hair. I first tried my usual Baking Soda and boiled water routine with no luck.  My hair still felt super slick and oily and I knew I didn’t have time to take yet another shower later in the day if this didn’t work so I grabbed the Dr. Bronner’s, even though I never liked it as a shampoo alternative.  I was quickly reminded why I didn’t like Dr. Bronner’s on my hair – it no longer felt like an oil slick but like it was coated in wax! Ugh… started to feel super defeated.  As a last resort, I grabbed my daughter’s Shea Moisture Baby body wash/shampoo and used it to try to get some semblance of normal back to my hair.  I wasn’t very optimistic but it did seem to get rid of most of the waxy feeling.

I am pleased to report that despite being SUPER FRIZZY my hair was back to some sort of normal after re-washing it.  I was able to straighten it with my flat iron and get sexified for my hubby and our date night.  I’m a little scared that I might have set myself back or might have to go through some sort of transition again.  I’m hoping because Shea Moisture is low poo with no sulfates, parabens, or silicone that it won’t hurt too much.  But alas, I’ve learned something new and won’t be making that mistake again!

Maybe the recipe would be better sans the olive oil because I know the Aloe Vera is supposed to be a great no poo hair cleansing ingredient.  Maybe… I don’t know.  I don’t have enough Aloe Vera to remake the recipe and honestly I don’t know that I have the heart to try again.  Want to give it a go? I’d love to hear how it works for you! Comment below.

I use only Young Living’s 100% pure, therapeutic grade essential oils.  Join Young Living to enjoy a 24% off discount.  Message me for more details or join today here!

 

*These statements have not been evaluated by the FDA. Products and techniques mentioned here are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease. Information here is in no way intended to replace proper medical help. Consult with the health authorities of your choice for treatment.

Author: shadowhawk1231

A wife, a mother, and an all natural DIYer!

Have feedback or a story to share! Tell me here!

