Adventures in Living a Natural Lifestyle

Sharing my adventures in living a more natural lifestyle, information about essential oils and natural home, health, and beauty recipes!

French Aromatherapy, My New Adventure!

Leave a comment

Naturally Oily cover photo

So after falling in love with essential oils last year I started to really enjoy researching the various methods and uses of oils to not only make my own DIY home, health and beauty recipes but also to support all eleven of the body’s systems (e.g., nervous, circulatory, skeletal, muscular, lymphatic, endocrine, reproductive – male & female, respiratory, digestive, and urinary).  I admit that when I first started getting more interested in system support I was startled that people were actually talking about ingesting essential oils! It seriously sketched me out and I originally thought “No way!” But like most things, I took my time to research why people were suggesting internal usage and was surprised by the evidence I found to support this method of essential oil use.

I’ve been ingesting essential oils since May of 2015 and slowly but surely becoming more comfortable in making recommendations for ways that internal usage can benefit my friends and family.  But what I’ve found as I’ve put myself out there more publicly to market my essential oil business is that not only is internal usage misunderstood it is also incredibly controversial.  Fear of the unknown and lack of a solid understanding of why internal usage of essential oils can be safe and incredibly effective fuels this controversy.

What I’ve learned is that there are several schools of thought on aromatherapy that vary in their suggested usage.  The most common model of aromatherapy is the Anglo-Saxon, or English model.  This model tends to be more conservative and recommends heavily diluting oils before applying topically, usually in the form of massage.  The German model of aromatherapy focuses more on the inhalation of essential oils.  And the French model of aromatherapy emphasizes the medicinal use of essential oils and often recommends “neat” (undiluted) topical use and ingestion of essential oils for the treatment of common maladies and diseases.  Some might even argue that there is a fourth, American model of aromatherapy that is a fusion of the English, German and French models.

Maybe it’s because I’m a glutton for punishment but I’ve known for awhile that I really wanted to pursue certification in aromatherapy.  Honestly it’s been the overall cost that has prevented me from taking the leap before now.  I knew that I wanted to study under a program that subscribed to the French model of aromatherapy and it seems these are harder to come by.  Recently I learned about the French Aromatherapy Certification course at the East-West School for Herbal & Aromatic Studies and was immediately intrigued.  The EWSHAS is one of the oldest and most well-respected herbal and aromatic schools in the United States and the founders, Cathy Skipper and Jade Shutes, just have this almost zen quality when they discuss essential oils that really resonates with me.

So this week I decided to take the plunge and enroll in the French Aromatherapy Certification course.  I’m excited to learn more about the chemical constituents that make up essential oils and how/why they work.  Plus I figure I’ll learn more about how I can safely recommend essential oils to my friends and family to help support their body’s systems and keep their families healthy! What that means is that as I embark on this new adventure I will be sharing some of what I learn with you, my lovely readers!  So be on the lookout for future blog posts that will breakdown the science behind essential oils and how/why they work as well as profiles on the oils that I’ll be studying throughout my coursework.

 

Want to join me? Sign up to take the French Aromatherapy Course here!

 

Want to know more about the different schools of thought regarding essential oil usage? Check out Jade Shutes’, one of the founders of EWSHAS, explanation of the different models of aromatherapy on their blog here: Models for Aromatherapy: French, English, and the Emerging New Model.

French Aromatherapy, My New Adventure! was originally published on Naturally Oily Adventures

Author: shadowhawk1231

A wife, a mother, and an all natural DIYer!

Have feedback or a story to share! Tell me here!

